In The BMJ: Nurse Explains The Devastating Consequences Of Being Prescribed Seroxat (Paxil) At Age 20…


What’s the difference between an 18 year old and a 20 year old in terms of side effects of Seroxat? (Seroxat is banned for under-18’s but that didn’t stop GSK from pushing it, nor did it stop them from pushing it in adults).
I was 21 when I was prescribed Seroxat, and I was upped my dose to 40mg at one point..
This nurse was zombified on 5mg after a few weeks…
Try it for years.. how do you imagine that would turn out?
GSK have literally been poisoning people to death with Seroxat..
It’s a disgrace…

http://www.bmj.com/content/351/bmj.h4629/rr-1

Feature Research Conduct

No correction, no retraction, no apology, no comment: paroxetine trial reanalysis raises questions about institutional responsibility

BMJ 2015; 351 doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1136/bmj.h4629 (Published 16 September 2015) Cite this as: BMJ 2015;351:h4629

Paroxetine trial reanalysis raises questions about institutional responsibility

I wanted to say thank you for publishing this article. I was once on Paxil myself, as a newly 20 year old, for panic disorder without agoraphobia. While taking just 1/4 of the normal starting dose (5mg was my dose), I displayed flat affect and a “zombie” like appearance. This was within several weeks, about two. I then became suicidal.

For something that is supposed to be an ANTI-depressant, I’m amazed at how PRO mental disorder it truly was.

I’m a very happy woman, and was always a happy teenager. This was not normal. The small, sane part of my brain told me I needed to tell someone I was feeling this way, but I didn’t want to – they would try to stop me if I did tell someone. I will never forget what that feeling was like, and I truly wonder if I am a PTSD patient now because of it.

In the end, I did try to hurt myself. I was very lucky to have my mother and a very close friend stop me and take me to the doctor. They pulled me off Paxil completely and switched me to another SSRI and a benzodiazepine to ease the withdrawal side effects from the Paxil. I’ve been on this SSRI ever since, and it has now been about 10 years.

Everytime I see an article like this, my heart breaks. I truly hope that this research saves other adolescents from experiencing what I went through. I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.

Competing interests: No competing interests

Leave a Reply

