Time Out..


It’s that time of the year where my energy for blogging is just completely sapped so I think it’s time for a break. It’s been a long long road, these last 8 years, and it gets hard sometimes to keep up the pace. I have invested a lot of time and energy in blogging about GSK and Seroxat and to be honest, I’ve had some real bad experiences along the way too. I have learned that you can trust very few people in this kind of arena, and some people are not what they seem at all. There are, however, people such as Bob Fiddaman and Leonie Fennell who I would literally trust with my life. These two people are fearless, selfless mental health campaigners who have undoubtedly saved lives through their activism. We all have. I have no doubt about that now.

There are many more people, who I have met along the way, who have been inspiring; too many to list here now.

The information that we (as mental health bloggers, pharmaceutical critics, and activists) have provided over the years has done a lot of good. However, activism can also be very draining. I don’t often talk about my own personal problems, or issues, and I’m not going to start now, but what I will say is, nobody ever fully recovers after being through something like Seroxat, particularly if you took it long term and had a protracted withdrawal. There is nervous system damage, and strange long term symptoms (which only others who have experienced it would understand). Sudden noises still make me jump, the nightmares never went away, and there is always that dark  void (which nearly 4 years on Seroxat is bound to cause) rumbling away in your psyche.

You don’t get sympathy for drug damage and there really is no cure, or even treatment, because the medical profession just doesn’t want to acknowledge it. It’s a can of worms which they dare not open. So in affect, you are punished twice, once on the drug and then forever after it for the damage. You’re kinda left feeling a bit like a freak (and I’m sure some of my ‘enemies’ out there would love to hear that- but it’s true so there you go).

The damage can’t be undone, but I need to rest for a while, and maybe turn my mind to other things.  I don’t have a lot, but I do have my soul, it’s often all I have to keep me going, and I need to protect it for a while, at least until I am stronger. The blog always pulls me back in because getting the word out about all this stuff is just too damn important, and I’m sure I’ll get sucked back in sometime in the future, but I’m definitely taking a break for now.

Thanks for comments, follows and tweets  (they are all valued), but most importantly, thanks for reading. Catch you all soon 🙂

7 comments

  1. BOB FIDDAMAN (@Fiddaman)

    Take some time out. Recharge and find something else to focus on. I wrote a book during my break, created a whole new world, just me and the characters I invented. Whether or not the book ever gets published does not matter – fact is, I moved away from the blogging because it became to much of a burden for me at that particular point in my life. People’s expectations of me became selfish – they saw me as a blogger, an activist… and nothing much else.

    What people seem to forget is that bloggers, such as yourself, have a life beyond the four sides of a laptop – that life may not, at times, be fair to you or give you financial stability – the folks who see you as a blogger won’t see what you see, won’t have to deal with what you have to deal with.

    Now is your time and now belongs to you. Embrace it.

    I am indebted to the work you do and the awareness you have created, you are one of the few who has stood the test of time. Anyone who can get under the skin of the pharmaceutical industry is a friend of mine…for life.

    Find something you want to do for yourself – then go do it.

    You will be back – this is your baby and you ain’t the kinda guy to abandon your baby.

    Take time out.

    Love, light and much peace to you.

    Fid

  2. Leonie (For Shane)

    The feeling is very mutual Truthman and from the very beginning I trusted you implicitly. You and Bobby were my life-savers and helped to open my eyes to another world, one that I never knew existed before Shane died. If there had been more people like you, maybe Shane would still be alive. No point in speculating I suppose but I know without a doubt that you have helped others and I will miss you. Come back soon my friend. BTW, I’ll keep you informed of all the goss – you’re not getting rid of me that easily!!
    Leonie xx

  3. sarah25m

    Thank you for all that you have done to create awareness of the SSRI myth. You will be missed.
    Good Luck.

  4. The Evidencer

    I’ll miss your updates, but can’t moan about your absence. You’ve done your part many times over.

    I’m in the opposite condition. I had tried to restore my self and back to my pretty good life for two years, after a four-year pharma ordeal that was initiated and worsened by colossally bad luck. But Iafyer the ordeal was more ordeal, as you noted. I didn’t have my old supports; the drugs had disappeared those. I rarely felt anything but loss and I wasn’t rebuilding, just tripping over rotten timbers. I had figured out that the drugs were prescribed for a misdiagnosis, but it was no solace. Then Germanwings got me going. At the moment, the web and the blogs are just what the doctor (did not) order.

    I appreciate your posts. I hope you find interesting and enjoyable things out there in 3D-land.

    E.

Leave a Reply

