David Carmichael, Paxil Side Effect Dangers And Vanessa’s Law


picture-262

David Carmichael was prescribed Paxil in 2003 with devastating consequences.

It is well established by now, that Paxil (and other SSRI’s) can cause severe reactions such as mania, psychosis, akathisia (inner restlessness/turmoil), violence, suicide, homicide, and aggression etc. (see here for mountains of evidence of these side effects).

However, in 2003, when David was prescribed Paxi (Seroxat), little was known about these now well established side effects. If David had been warned, things could have been a whole lot different. Unfortunately he was not. David, like many others (including myself) were given a pill without informed consent as to the side effects which it could induce. GSK should be held accountable for this tragedy, and for many others. Paxil is still being prescribed, because GSK still makes a profit on it. This is unacceptable.

You can read about David, and his Paxil story on his website (see here). It makes for very harrowing reading. However, despite the awful tragedy which Paxil (and GSK’s failure to warn about the side effects of Paxil) brought upon David and his family, David has been campaigning for better warnings on anti-depressants for years now. David refuses to become just a Paxil victim, and he has turned his Paxil tragedy into one of hope. One particularly powerful campaign which David has been actively involved in is the implementation of Vanessa’s law in Canada. You can read about Vanessa’s Law here.

I wish David well, and I hope that he can find justice for himself and his family.

http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/legislation/unsafedrugs-droguesdangereuses-faq-eng.php

Vanessa’s Law to protect Canadians from unsafe drugs

From Canadian Press (published on Huffington Post):

OTTAWA – The Conservative government has introduced new legislation aimed at protecting consumers from unsafe medications and reducing adverse drug reactions.

The Protecting Canadians from Unsafe Drugs Act is known as Vanessa’s Law in honour of the late daughter of Conservative MP Terence Young.

The 15-year-old died of a heart attack 13 years ago while on a prescription drug for a stomach ailment. The medication was later deemed unsafe and pulled from the market.

Young, MP for Oakville, has been fighting ever since for a more stringent Canadian drug-monitoring system.

Under the new legislation, the government now has the power to initiate mandatory recalls for unsafe drugs and to demand reports from health-care institutions on adverse drug reactions.

The bill also allows the government to impose tough new penalties for unsafe products, including jail time and new fines of up to $5 million a day instead of the current $5,000.

Read the whole story: Vanessa’s Law Honours Memory Of Tory MP Terence Young’s Late Daughter.

Read more about David’s story, and his campaign, on his website below

http://www.davidcarmichael.com/


In July 2003, at the age of 45, I experienced my first major depression. I started taking 40mg. of the antidepressant Paxil a day. By September, I was feeling mentally healthy again. After forgetting to take Paxil for a few days in February 2004, I weaned myself off the drug. I started to feel depressed again in July. My symptoms included insomnia, increased anxiety, rapid weight loss, low concentration and a lack of energy. I put myself back on 40mg. of Paxil a day.

A few days after I started taking Paxil again, I was having suicidal thoughts. I thought I could get rid of the thoughts and recover more quickly if I increased my dosage. On July 17, I started taking 60mg. of Paxil a day. Three days later, I planned my suicide. I went from planning my suicide to planning a murder-suicide to planning a murder. On July 31, 2004, I killed my 11-year-old son Ian. I was charged with first-degree murder.

In November 2004, I was diagnosed by one of the leading forensic psychiatrists in the world as being in a “major depression” with “psychotic episodes” when I killed Ian. In May 2005, his assessment was supported by another leading forensic psychiatrist, who was hired by the crown attorney. On September 30, 2005, I was judged to be “not criminally responsible on account of a mental disorder” for murdering Ian. I received an absolute discharge from the Ontario Review Board on December 4, 2009.

I hope some of the information posted on this website can help prevent suicidal and homicidal tragedies.

Leave a Reply

