In Defense of Shane Clancy: “A Search for Justice: Death in Bray” (TV3 Ireland Documentary airing on Monday, March 10th 2014)


Before I begin this blog post, I would like to offer my  sincere condolences to all those affected by this, the loss must be unimaginable, for Sebastian Creane, his family, and to Jennifer Hannigan and her family, and of course to Leonie, for Shane, and Shane’s family. Many people have suffered in this. Many people have been affected. This is a terrible tragedy which is difficult for many to comprehend, and understandably so.

   However, I sincerely believe that this tragedy would not have happened had Shane, or his family, been warned of the potential side effects of SSRI drugs. SSRI side effects such as Akathisa, agitation, anxiety, aggression, impulsivity, homicidal and suicidal ideation, are commonly reported from patients on SSRI’s. They are even written in the Patient information leaflets now (although that’s more to cover drug companies from lawsuits than a humane act on their part, and also hardly anyone looks at the PIL, particularly young people, therefore it’s close to useless).

   I have had these side effects whilst on SSRI’s and I have talked to many others who have experienced them also. There is a massive culture of denial within mainstream psychiatry because it is a pandora’s box which- if opened- would destroy the credibility of psychiatric drugs. If psychiatric drugs are perceived as unsafe then this undermines psychiatry. The industry and psychiatry have a vested interest in keeping the public in the dark about this. I don’t just think this, it’s a fact, and it is well known by those of us involved in bringing the truth about these drugs to public consciousness.

   These facts cannot bring back a loved one, but they are significant for trying to understand why tragedies like this occur. One brilliant website which has documented SSRI murder/suicides is AntiDepAware. What has been correlated here on this site is quite staggering, and in my opinion the evidence is irrefutable now. Shane’s case, is one of many, and anyone on an SSRI could end up in a similar situation, and the real tragedy is- the public are mostly completely unaware. These tragedies could have been avoided if people were adequately warned, but the pharmaceutical industry and psychiatry do not want to be held accountable, therefore they continue to deny. Furthermore, the profits on these drugs are obscene, and profit and money is the bottom line here.

On Monday the 10th of March, Irish channel TV3, will air a documentary about the Shane Clancy tragedy called: “A search for justice: death in Bray. I wrote about Shane when this tragic event happened (see here and here) and it might seem premature writing a post before this documentary airs but I feel before the media spin kicks in, it is appropriate, as many important aspects might get lost in the sensationalism which will inevitably follow.

   The reason why I first wrote about Shane, and why I care about all this- is because -like Shane, I was prescribed an SSRI drug for depression (mine was Seroxat, Shane’s was Cipramil). I was also around Shane’s age when this happened. I was 21, and Shane was 22. It was also, like in Shane’s case- my mother who brought me to a psychiatrist and a GP initially- because she was desperate to help alleviate the sheer despair I was experiencing from crippling depression. Shane’s mother Leonie, did the same thing as my mother, (as any mother would) and like myself and my mother, Leonie and Shane were not warned of the possible dangerous side effects from SSRI drugs. Effectively, there was no informed consent. None of us were warned. This is appalling.

   I will never forget the awful feeling in the first few days and weeks of taking Seroxat. I remember the swooshing, dizzying, giddy- unreality buzzing in my mind, as the chemical began to course through the blood into my brain. I went from being severely depressed, to severely out of my head. I would get these rushes and shivers, my eyes would roll and the world felt all lopsided. My teeth would clench, my jaw muscles would clench, and I’d get audio hallucinations during the day, and Stephen King style nightmares and sweats at night. If I stood up too quickly I would almost faint as my blood pressure was affected from the SSRI. I would stupor, and my eyes were like pinholes, I looked like a junkie. I would dribble on myself, as I sat numbed like a vegetable watching day time TV- as the levels of Seroxat accumulated, I felt more and more careless, more and more distant from me, my family and my surroundings. I became completely de-personalized.

   It was undoubtedly a drugged up state, but not the kind of drugged up state which you would imagine these so called ‘happy pills’ to be. There was no happy-ness, no bliss, just a feeling of numbness, inhibition, blur and muddled confusion. A buzzy blur, an incoherency of thoughts and feelings all day, everything just out of whack and out of sync. As the weeks and months went on, and the Seroxat pills went down, I began to feel aggressive, particularly towards my family, I would snap at them and often they were afraid of me, or afraid of what the drug was doing to me, what I was becoming. The night sweats and nightmares turned into night spasms and horrifically violent dreams which scared the hell out me. I would wake up terrified, horrified that my mind could conjure up scenes of such horrible violence and mayhem. On a few occasions in the first few months on Seroxat I lashed out at my mother and my sister, and at one point I chased my father around his house, with every intention of attacking him. He rang the police and I left, like a possessed madman, slamming his door and shattering the glass. This aggression was completely and utterly out of character for me, I am the most passive, non confrontational person in the world. I have no doubt it was the effects of the SSRI. No doubts at all. SSRI’s can push some people over the edge. The creators of this website (SSRI stories) have collected 5000 media examples of SSRI suicides, homicides, rage etc. That, is likely- the tip of the iceberg.

   Since coming off Seroxat over 10 years ago, I have sought to inform and educate others and make them aware of the dangers of SSRI medications. I have spoken to others who have experienced the same effects. I have met government ministers, journalists, psychiatrists, educators, activists, the gamut of professions. I have tried my best to get the truth out there about Seroxat and SSRI’s. These drugs can be very dangerous for some people. It’s like Russian roulette- nobody knows how severe the side effects will be. The drug companies lie, the psychiatrists deceive, there are vested interests hell bent on keeping the extent of the damage of these drugs hidden and obscured. Depression does not make people violent or volatile, but SSRI’s can induce these affects in those who take them- it is only since the advent of the SSRI anti-depressant age that we have witnessed so many cases like the Clancy case. This is not fiction, conspiracy theories or random accounts, these are documented cases. These are facts.

   I hope that this documentary gives a fair and objective account of SSRI dangers, but I have a feeling that the drug companies and psychiatry will do everything in their power to defend the drugs and blame Shane. Psychiatry always blames the patient, and psychiatry is the pharmaceutical industry’s apologist. That’s a well known fact. Psychiatry and the pharmaceutical industry are two branches of the same tree, intertwined

I look forward to blogging more after the documentary is aired. But for now I will leave these videos here about SSRI’s, violence, volatility, and disturbing side effects, they are essential viewing. (there are hundreds more on youtube)

Antidepressant Side Effects

7 comments

    • truthman30

      It’s a very sad case. The homicide/suicide link is something which the drug companies have been covering up for decades… I expect a similar thing will happen here….

  1. Sarah

    Thank you truthman 30 for this TV3 programme alert. I realise it will sadly stir up the nightmare once again for the families involved. However I expect for them the nightmare never goes away. Your experience with Seroxat was horrifying. It seems that many people have positive effects from these drugs and that may be why family doctors. continue to prescribe them so indiscriminately. Little account is taken of stories like yours. Why? I guess history tells us that people “with mental problems” didn’t count. Perhaps to some extent that is still so. Unfortunately these SSRIs are creating a far worse problem for many which is explained away very glibly as “a worsening of depression” .

  2. truthman30

    Hi Sarah,

    The problem is, people with mental health problems don’t have a voice, they are dismissed and not listened to. The system which treats them is in the position of power, therefore depressed and anxious patients are automatically disadvantaged by being in the weaker position. They are a vulnerable demographic too, and even more vulnerable if they are damaged by meds because their condition can easily be blamed for it, they have no agency, it is the prescribing doctor who decides on the labels.

    I would dispute that medications ‘work’ for anyone with mental health issues, at least in the conventional sense of what we imagine ‘work’ to mean. If by ‘working’ you mean treating, curing, fixing, alleviating the problems- or the state of being of the individual ingesting them- then the proof of that is dubious at best and non existent at worst. The drugs certainly have an affect (and effects), in that they create an artificial state of being, therefore to some people this state of being might be more favorable than the state of being that they were experiencing pre-med. People who want to escape their problems often use other ways, such as using alcohol, coke, heroin, etc, or they gamble, or they have casual sex, or they eat too much, or they spend too much. SSRI’s provide an alternative state but they do not address the problems of why the individual came to be so unhappy in the first place.

    I would dispute also that people have positive experiences, the SSRI state of being might be preferable to the depressed state, therefore the drugged state seems positive, you could say the same for any other illegal drug users, or drinkers, I know many people who love being drunk, they love getting high, because it’s preferable to sobriety and reality. SSRI’s are a mild narcotic in my opinion, I have gone through Nicotine withdrawal after 20 years smoking and Seroxat withdrawal after 4 years and I can tell you wholeheartedly, that Nicotine was really tough but it was a walk n the park compared to Seroxat, the severity of Seroxat withdrawal literally makes it close to impossible to quit, that’s why most people wean over several months…

    Most people end up suffering from anxiety and depressed states because of life circumstances, there is no pill that can fix these…but there are certainly pills which can make everything a whole lot worse…

  3. Margaret

    Can you and your supporters not just be quiet for a while to allow the Creane family and their friends for the first time in nearly 5 years to finally have their say and not pre judge what is going to be said or shown in this Documentary..One word comes to mind when speaking about the Creane family., Dignified.Please allow them that and remain silent if you can.

    • truthman30

      Margaret,

      I feel that everyone is a victim in this, it is an awful tragedy for all involved. I think it is a shame that somehow the media seems to want to portray that grieving families are in some way pitted against each other. There is loss on all sides. I write about these cases because I was on an SSRI and I KNOW that they can cause aggression, violence and a host of other problems. I write in order to warn others, and perhaps if my voice had have been listened to- tragedies like this could have been prevented.

Leave a Reply

