Remembering Seroxat Causing Self-harm (2004)


http://www.network54.com/Forum/281849/thread/1097319908/1097337553/%26quot%3Bless+than+a+small+class+size+would+have+these+suicidal+thoughts+or+attempts%26quot%3B

just 16 but within a week of starting seroxat had began self harming.

October 9 2004, 4:59 PM 

Sarah Thompson says she
self harmed on Seroxat

Sarah Thompson was prescribed Seroxat for depression three years ago. She was just 16 at the time.

She had never had suicidal thoughts before taking the drug, but within a week had began self harming.

She told the programme: “I’d never thought about suicide before I took Seroxat and when I was taking it. I was obsessed about death it was part of my every day life.

“I would cut myself mainly and then I started to burn myself and found other methods, but it was mainly cutting myself to start with.

Three years on, she has strong views about the regulation of the drug: “Looking back at what happened to me because of Seroxat, and the great affect it has had on my life and to my relationships with my family and my future.

“I don’t think that the regulators are doing their job properly, because they allowed me to take a drug that has in effect taken away part of my childhood.”

Leave a Reply

